University of South Florida College of The Arts

Architecture & Community Design   |   Art & Art History   |   Music   |   Theatre & Dance   |   Institute for Research in Art

Steinway Piano Series: David Kalhous

Event Type: Music
Facility: School of Music (MUS)
Presented By: School of Music
Three great piano sonatas by three great Central European composers will be at the core of the 
recital presented by the Czech-born pianist David Kalhous. Leos Janácek's emotionally intense and 
tragic two-movement Piano Sonata will be followed by Beethoven's Sonata in C Major (Waldstein), 
one of the most important works of the composer’s so-called "heroic" period, and particularly notable 
for its daring formal structure and instrumental virtuosity. The magisterial Sonata in B Minor, one of the 
most dazzling works of the piano repertoire and arguably Franz Liszt’s crowning achievement, will 
bring the recital to a close. Several miniatures by György Kurtág, one of the most important European 
composers working today, will complete the program. 
Date: 2/18/2018
Event Information: {\rtf1\ansi\ansicpg1252\deff0\deflang1033{\fonttbl{\f0\fnil MS Sans Serif;}{\f1\fnil\fcharset0 MS Sans Serif;}} \viewkind4\uc1\pard\f0\fs20\par \f1 Standard Tickets\f0\par }
Purchase Tickets:
Location: Barness Recital Hall
Start Time: 4:00 PM
End Time: 5:30 PM
FASTbook Online ©2000-2022 Event Software. All rights reserved.